Liu Shaoqi

Liu Shao-ch'i 劉少奇 Pseud. Hu Fu 胡服 Liu Shao-ch'i (1900-), the Chinese Communist party's foremost expert on the theory and practice of organization and party structure, became Chairman of the People's Republic of China in April 1959. He was the second-ranking member of the party until 1966, when he became a principal target of the […]

Read More
Hu Yepin

Hu Yeh-p'in (1907-7 February 1931), writer and companion of Ting Ling (q.v.). He became an ardent Communist and an official of the League of Left-Wing Writers. After his arrest and execution by the Nationalists, he became known as one of the five martyrs of the League of Left-Wing Writers. Foochow, Fukien, was the birthplace of […]

Read More
Mao Zedong

Mao Tse-tung 毛澤東 T. Jun-chih 潤之 Mao Tse-tung (26 December 1893-), leader of the Chinese Communist party and founder of the People's Republic of China. Shaoshan, Hsiangt'an hsien, Hunan, was the birthplace of Mao Tse-tung. This agriculturally productive and culturally advanced section of Hunan produced two of the outstanding scholargenerals of the late Ch'ing period, […]

Read More
All rights reserved@ENP-China