Zhao Ersun

Chao Erh-sun (7 July 1844-3 September 1927) served the Ch'ing government in such capacities as governor general of Szechwan and of the Three Eastern Provinces. After 1912 he was editor of the bureau of Ch'ing history, responsible for the compilation of the Ch'ing-shih kao [provisional history of the Ch'ing]. A native of T'iehling, Fengtien, Chao […]

Read More
Xiong Shili

Hsiung Shih-li (1885-), philosopher. As expressed in his most important work, Hsin weishih lun [new doctrine of consciousness only], Hsiung's system combined elements of the I-ching, the Lu-Wang school of Neo-Confucianism, and the wei-shih school of Mahayana Buddhism. A native of Huangkang, Hupeh, Hsiung Shih-li was the third in a family of six boys. Only […]

Read More
Li Yuanhong

Li Yuan-hung 黎元洪 T. Sung-ch'ing 宋卿 H. Huang-p'i 黃坡 Li Yuan-hung (1864-3 June 1928), the only man to serve twice as president of the republican government at Peking T(June 1916-July 1917; June 1922-June 1923). Huangp'i, north of Hankow, was the birthplace of Li Yuan-hung. His ancestors, merchants from Anhwei, had settled in Hupeh as farmers. […]

Read More
All rights reserved@ENP-China